navigate
index
archives
favourites
Pigs Do Fly
The Workout Diaries
Dietgirl
Sarah
Just Nesting
Gritty Sweet
Scale Whore
Road to ambition
Domesticat
Nancy
Mia Goddess
shoop43
hollysdiet
orangeslush
manyfires
restlessmind
dietingjenn
gonzostar
development
captvfirefly
janetplnetoc
wanders
h2ophobic
alwaysange
hubbabub
bubaloo
dirtylinda
yarnsmith
fatqueen
swirl-girl
johnguinness
noaddedme
unclebob
kristintracy
discothekid
whitehelmet
rdhdprincess
marn
juddhole
myownjourney
gurlesque
dangerspouse
warcrygirl
heidiann
slacker
mydiet2006
wellnessplan
admit-it
idiot-milk
bebelua
irreverent1
freshhell
then-n-now
thinplease
iamstillme

2005-01-20 - 9:25 p.m.

Wow, its been a week already. I have been doing alright.

Went to the doctor on Monday. I did well for about 3 minutes and then started crying while describing my pain and numbness and taking off my shoe so he could see what I was talking about. I was so relieved that he was taking me seriously and really wants to get to the root of the problem.

I left there with 3 prescription orders. One for an MRI, scheduled for the 21st. One for physical therapy, including massage, ultra sound and hydro something or other also weight training as tolerated. The third prescription is for a foot brace for my drop foot. He says this should help kick my foot up when I walk so I don't continue to trip over it.

The doctor said basically the nerve was compressed so long that it will take some time for it to come back. My biggest concern now is the drop foot and numb toe. I realized today that I am afraid to ask if that is something that will be repairable or if it is permanently damaged. I don't think I could face the answer.

I go to physical therapy on the 25th and am really looking forward to it. I tried to go swimming last night, but it was only about 50 degrees outside and the water was so freaking cold that I couldn't go all the way into the water. I stood in the 3 foot area and did some leg kicks and walked around, but there was no way the boobies were going in the water. I was going to try again today (mid 70's today) but I never got around to it. Maybe after the MRI tomorrow.

I have joined the Discovery channel challenge as well as the going nowhere site. I think I need a challenge.

Michael and I have been discussing the diet at great lengths lately, especially my inability to set a date and go back on atkins and we came to the conclusion that I don't want to do it. I have decided to try Weight Watchers. I'm not sure when I'll be able to go and sign up because money will be an issue for a while. I am only getting 60% of my pay now (which barely covers my bills) and the doctor has me home until the end of Feb.

I really am thinking WW will be the way to go. I need some structure and I hope I can follow the plan. I have never been good with calorie counting and all that so I really hope it is easy for me to do. Michael will probably go and join in the beginning just for materials and guidence but I don't think he is going to like going to the meetings. He still remembers being dragged to meetings by his mother when he was a little boy.

I have been so inspired by some of my regular reads and I personally know so many people who have found success on this program.

I have so much more to say, but I don't want it to be so long that no one reads it all the way through.

I'll post more tomorrow, promise.

 

me
Height: 5'4"

Start weight: 266
Current weight: 245

Starting fresh!

Pounds lost:21

Mini-goal: 250
Reward: Undecided


profile
contact
notes
email
g-book
thanks
dland
RP Designs
Locations of visitors to this page


Walking Away The Pounds
Prev | Join | Random | Next