navigate
index
archives
favourites
Pigs Do Fly
The Workout Diaries
Dietgirl
Sarah
Just Nesting
Gritty Sweet
Scale Whore
Road to ambition
Domesticat
Nancy
Mia Goddess
shoop43
hollysdiet
orangeslush
manyfires
restlessmind
dietingjenn
gonzostar
development
captvfirefly
janetplnetoc
wanders
h2ophobic
alwaysange
hubbabub
bubaloo
dirtylinda
yarnsmith
fatqueen
swirl-girl
johnguinness
noaddedme
unclebob
kristintracy
discothekid
whitehelmet
rdhdprincess
marn
juddhole
myownjourney
gurlesque
dangerspouse
warcrygirl
heidiann
slacker
mydiet2006
wellnessplan
admit-it
idiot-milk
bebelua
irreverent1
freshhell
then-n-now
thinplease
iamstillme

2004-12-05 - 6:33 p.m.

Can you say WORST BIRTHDAY EVER!!!

Today is my birthday and I have not enjoyed a second of it.

I had back surgery on Tuesday. I got there at about 8 am, they had to do all their prep work and stuff and I think it was about 10:30 that I went into the operating room. The doctor told us beforehand that the procedures would be about an hour and a half.

He was done about 5 hours later. It seems that it wasn't the disk sticking out alone which was pressing on the disk. He found once they cut me open that there were calcium growth type things growing on my spine and that was causing most of my pain.

I ended up staying in the hospital Tues and Wed night, being sent home on Thursday afternoon.

I was sent home with a walker and some prescriptions. I think any extra time I spent in the hospital was coming out of their checks so they kicked me out.

When I came home I attempted to spend some time in the living room but all our furniture was very low and I couldn't do it.

I went upstairs after about 15 minutes (stairs = death) and stayed up there until Saturday morning. I went up and down twice yesterday and then again today. I have spent quite a bit of time down here today.

I am embarressed to say this, but I don't think many people read this anymore, but I had difficulty wiping after peeing the first day and still do have trouble wiping the back end. Can you believe those fuckers actually prescribed laxatives??? WTF? That is the last thing I need right now, but since Michael (who has been such an angel) is a stickler for instructions I took one on Thursday. I have been shitting like crazy. I am not taking any more of those.

As if hobbling around with a walker or a borrowed cane was hard enough, for my birthday I got an extra surprise from my body. I got my period. Could there be a worse time? Thank goodness it has been kind of light. Did I mention that its sponge baths only until Tuesday?? Nice.

I forgot to mention the other things that happened with the surgery, I have small bruises all over, my lower lip was swollen to twice its size, I had some type of blisters under my lip above my chin, my left arm was completely numb for 2 days, from the shoulder to the fingertips (that has gone away) and the left leg, which was where most of my pain was is now pretty numb as well. I sure hope that goes away and I get a little weepy when I think about it.

I'll post more in a couple days, hopefully I won't be as bitchy and emotional as I am now.

 

me
Height: 5'4"

Start weight: 266
Current weight: 245

Starting fresh!

Pounds lost:21

Mini-goal: 250
Reward: Undecided


profile
contact
notes
email
g-book
thanks
dland
RP Designs
Locations of visitors to this page


Walking Away The Pounds
Prev | Join | Random | Next